Yamaha TX-7 and Eprom (DIY)

Studio Equipment, Backline, Accessories etc.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul, Fozzer

User avatar
teevee
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: Yamaha TX-7 and Eprom (DIY)

Unread postby teevee » Sat Nov 12, 2016 7:41 pm

Okay, I will buy both and give it a try:
27C800-100
27C160


jima wrote:Yes, but the EX5 is specified for 100nS access time EPROM's so while the chips are faster on paper they do not benefit the EX5 at all although they will work satisfactorily and do no harm.

The EX5 does not have the signals to correctly control a 27C160 and takes no advantage of the doubled capacity so while they can be used, the OS image needs to be burned into each half of the chip to be sure one is visible to the EX5 under all circumstances. Alternatively, a small mod needs to be done to the chip to ensure that the lower half of the chip is selected by default and the lower half burned.


Thanks for this input. I actually asked Keir from this Amiga forum and he gave me a similar answer.

M27C160-50F1 is much easier to find. This part is twice the capacity of M27C800, when you program it I recommend you burn each 512kB section twice

I just have to be a bit more familiar with the “jumper” settings on the adapter to access bank 1 and bank 2 as Keir`s “documentation” is a bit unclear at some points.


Question:
Can I damage my device by using a wrong eprom or will it maximum be an error at boot-up?

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1247
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha TX-7 and Eprom (DIY)

Unread postby Miks » Sat Nov 12, 2016 9:42 pm

I dare to say that if you use either a 27C800 or a 27C160 you wouldn't damage your TX electrically - it may not boot up correctly or show some erratic behaviour - but whatever you do - you'll do it at your own risk! 8O
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade

User avatar
teevee
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: Yamaha TX-7 and Eprom (DIY)

Unread postby teevee » Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:06 pm

Miks wrote:I dare to say that if you use either a 27C800 or a 27C160 you wouldn't damage your TX electrically - it may not boot up correctly or show some erratic behaviour - but whatever you do - you'll do it at your own risk! 8O


Thanks for the confirmation. I would hate having fried my device

Everything we do is on our own risk :D

Short reminder, the “main-target” has changed from Yamaha Tx-7 to Yamaha VL70m :)

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1247
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha TX-7 and Eprom (DIY)

Unread postby Miks » Sun Nov 13, 2016 12:38 am

teevee wrote:Short reminder, the “main-target” has changed from Yamaha Tx-7 to Yamaha VL70m

Ouuuch... my bad! 8O Seems that I have mixed up that synths... I apologize for that faux pas :roll:
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade

User avatar
teevee
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: Yamaha TX-7 and Eprom (DIY)

Unread postby teevee » Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:07 pm

Miks wrote:
teevee wrote:Short reminder, the “main-target” has changed from Yamaha Tx-7 to Yamaha VL70m

Ouuuch... my bad! 8O Seems that I have mixed up that synths... I apologize for that faux pas :roll:


Thank you for your support, you have been very helpful.

I shared my .bin os to here to help other users: (I can see that some people are earning money on making copies of Firmware on Eproms, which is unfair if you have a eprom burner and only need the .bin to do it yourself)
http://llamamusic.com/docs/synth_binari ... aries.html

I ran into another problem, which is maybe out of scope but still about Eproms.

I just received 5 chips (AM27C040) from this seller:
http://www.ebay.de/itm/171555241796

I made a ChipID check on all 5 and it gave me Chip ID 8F08 which is FM27C040 or NM27C040, which means that seller has sold me 5 eproms with a fake name convention as the correct ChipID is "019B".

This is the image/.bin I want to burn: (Firmware OS 1.05 for Akai s-3200xl)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/c1pb6zesnm7lb ... 5.BIN?dl=0

If I ignore this fake name fact and program the chips as FM27C040 or NM27C040, then I get this error:
Image

If I set “Check ID” off and program as AM27C040, then I get this error:
Image

The programming is ca. 50-60 % in process before this error occurs and the same error recurs, when I’m testing another chip.

Would this error be based on:
• Faulty .bin file?
• Faulty setting in my program (Minipro)
• Faulty eprom chip
I don’t think there is anything wrong with the programmer itself.

User avatar
teevee
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: Yamaha TX-7 and Eprom (DIY)

Unread postby teevee » Sun Dec 25, 2016 6:10 pm

Please disregard :D

After reading this 3 page forum topic about the same burner and chip, then I just came to the conclusion that TL866 and AM27C040 are not good friends as no solution was found!
http://atariage.com/forums/topic/230587-burning-eproms/


Return to “Other - Studio/Audio/Backline etc”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests