RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Kick back and talk about anything here. Music or non Music related..Anything goes....within reason!

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Fozzer, Saul

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:23 am

Purcell - all of the EAC is off my PC now. It changed the icons for a few things. I ran a few safety scans and removed what infections it found. Its a dreadful software! And so is Digital Inn - whoever they are? As for Customer Services and the forum...

User avatar
purcell
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:00 am
Germany

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by purcell » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:34 am

OK! So everything is even worse!
if we are dealing with trojans or virus or whatever, I suggest you ask Saul. Send him an Private Message?

I am here at the end of my general safety advice.

With trojans the fun completely stops.

So! Please ask Saul or other computer experts.

Turn off the computer.

And wait for what Saul or others advise you to do.

----------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7447
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by Saul » Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:41 pm

Seems your having a bit of nightmare there Paul!

I would not have expected EAC to do anything untoward to the computer. This leads me to believe that either the archive on their site has been compromised or the third party software which seems to have installed with EAC is doing something it shouldn't. Either way I'm glad to hear you have removed it.

Purcell rightly mentioned sandboxing software installs with a program called TimeFreeze but you can do the same thing with 360 Total Security which is the antivirus software I run on my pc's. It has a built in sandbox so when you want to run something your unsure of your just right click on the install/setup and choose to run it in sandbox mode. That completely seals it off from the rest of your computer so you can see if anything looks a bit dodgy. You will know pretty soon because much malware will refuse to work in sandbox mode in which case just bin it.

How is everything now, back to normal?
Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaForums
Follow Us On Facebook
Epiphone EJ-200CE/Taylor 114e ES2/Yamaha FG830/Roland Juno DS88/Pianoteq Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iPad Air 2/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 8/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors/Focusrite Scarlett2i2 2nd gen
Mac & PC Computer Repairs, Upgrades. Web Hosting, Installation and Design www.thegraphicscompany.uk

User avatar
purcell
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:00 am
Germany

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by purcell » Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:44 pm

The thing is thereby ... there are urls that use (most wanted) completely normal software offer - everything initially unsusceptable.
They use that "normal software" as carriers for everything, mostly virus or trojan or other garbage.

That DIGITALL-INN is unknown by GOOGLE etc.! As well as zipped software to unzip. That is Red alert !

360 Total Security is a very useful and good thing!

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:58 pm

Saul - I think EAC must have changed a lot since John first used it. I think he said he has the original version? So that may be five years old, or whatever. Cheers.

User avatar
purcell
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:00 am
Germany

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by purcell » Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:43 pm

Information:
EAC is an ancient AUDIORIPPER freeware! Used everywhere!
I have found many reputable sites, which offer the freeware for download. For.ex. CHIP, ComputerBild, etc. (Germany)

Here is the link to the original page with version history: Now it´s version 1.3!
http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/en/index.p ... whats-new/

http://www.chip.de/downloads/Exact-Audi ... 90433.html
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I think you just had bad luck to get exactly DIGITAL-INN.
With the links I mentioned, this probably would not have happened.
There are certainly also secure english download urls for that EAC Freeware..

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:05 pm

Purcell - thanks. But I certainly won't be risking EAC again. Cheers.

User avatar
purcell
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:00 am
Germany

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by purcell » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:29 pm

t was just an info!
It was not my intention to bring you back to EAC.

I can only hope that your computer is undamaged.
And you forgot the whole nonsense with EAC etc. soon. Good luck!

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:44 pm

Cheers Purcell, yes it was nonsense!

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:19 pm

Hi - would Audacity not do the job of ripping in FLAC?

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7447
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: RE: Sony mp3 Walkman (help?)

Unread post by Saul » Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:07 am

Yes you can but I am not sure how well it does the job.

Part 1: How to Import CD and Rip CD with Audacity

Audacity is a software program that offers you many capabilities, among them being importing data to CDs or ripping data from CDs. The following is how you go about the process of importing data to a CD or ripping data from a CD on your Mac PC.

Step1. First, input the CD that you need to import or rip the data from into the CD drive.

Step2. After that, open Audacity, and then go to File, and then Import, and then use the Audio command.

Step3. An alternative will be to extract the audio by going to File, and then use the "Save Project As" option. The only issue with this method is that the CD will need to be present the next you open the project.

Step4. You can also rip data from a CD or import it from a CD using Audacity by going to Preferences, and then use the Import/Export option. When importing the audio files, a radio button that requests you to make a copy of uncompressed audio files before editing them will appear. Make sure that you check that radio button.

As it mentions uncompressed audio files that's good but what format are they in?
Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaForums
Follow Us On Facebook
Epiphone EJ-200CE/Taylor 114e ES2/Yamaha FG830/Roland Juno DS88/Pianoteq Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iPad Air 2/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 8/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors/Focusrite Scarlett2i2 2nd gen
Mac & PC Computer Repairs, Upgrades. Web Hosting, Installation and Design www.thegraphicscompany.uk

Post Reply

Return to “Chill Out Room”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest